Mendocino Farms – New Restaurant Opening in Sherman Oaks!

Image

I am always on the hunt for a good sandwich & salad place. So when I found out that Mendocino Farms was opening up a restaurant in the Valley, I was thrilled. I’ve always wanted to try their food, but just hadn’t made it out to their downtown Los Angeles or Fairfax locations. They are all about using farm fresh produce, sourced locally & you’ll be happy to note that their prices are comparable to other sandwich & salad cafes.

This past weekend I attended their Friends & Family Pre-Grand Opening Party. After parking our car, we waited outside in line for the doors to open & this is what my daughter noticed right away. Isn’t it cute?!

Image

Once inside, we were greeted by an employee who walked us through the menu. My husband & I had a hard time deciding which sandwich to get as there were many options to choose from. For my vegan friends, take note that they do have several great choices for you!

My hubby picked the Farm Club. It was tasty & I especially loved the applewood bacon.

Image

However I couldn’t decide between the Spicy Lemongrass Steak Banh Mi or the interestingly named A Sandwich Study of Heat (AKA Turkey Avocado). The turkey sandwich won out because I was intrigued by the flavor combination of chili aioli & jalapeno relish that is used in the sandwich. I also liked that you could request the sandwich to be “completely cool” or “daringly hot.” I decided to play it safe & just got the regular “medium” heat. This sandwich did not disappoint, as it was very flavorful.

Image

Mendocino Farms is very kid-friendly. We were seated across from the chalkboard wall, where kids are encouraged to draw on while they wait. They also have a game table & a small kids-only table, perfect for those get-togethers after a play date!

Image

Image

The kids menu has several options. My daughter got a grilled cheese sandwich with a side of apple slices & a drink. Tip: the kid size portion is a half-sandwich, so if your child is a hearty eater, you may want to pick from the regular menu. Needless to say, a half-sandwich, side & drink for only $3.95 is a good deal.

Mendocino Farms opens this Thursday, October 10th. They are located on 14141 Ventura Blvd. in Sherman Oaks. For a peak at their menu, click here. What sandwich or salad would you order? If you have been to a Mendocino Farms, did you eat happy? I’d love to read your comments in the section below!

Image

Disclosure: I attended a pre-grand opening party where we received complimentary food & drinks. No compensation was received for this post & all opinions are my own.

9 thoughts on “Mendocino Farms – New Restaurant Opening in Sherman Oaks!

  1. Love this place! Food is delicious and the people are so friendly. I also like that they give samples of their salads.

    Would love to meet you sometime for a fitness class and a bite afterward here!

Leave a comment