My One Year Blogging Anniversary

Last Wednesday (June 25th) was my one year blogiversary. Interestingly enough, I had spent that day surrounded by fellow bloggers at the Disney On-the-Road Celebration event in Scottsdale, Arizona. It was such an inspiring day! I learned a lot & I’m so glad that I made the trek from CA to AZ. (Recap will be posted on the blog at a later date.)

DisneyOTR_Suitcase

It was during the drive from LA with my parents & young daughter that made me contemplate this question that I read in the April issue of The Oprah Magazine –> “What do I really want to do all day?”

(Image credit: Camille Dashana Kimble-Wall)
(Image credit: Camille Dashana Kimble-Wall)

Currently I work three part-time jobs. My “day job” is with an online babysitting resource that connects parents with nannies & babysitters. I am the Editor/Founder of Real Mom of SFV. I also freelance write for various online publications. These jobs, along with volunteering at my daughter’s school, keep me very busy.

It wasn’t that long ago that I was working in the corporate world. I’ve held marketing & product development positions at various toy & entertainment companies in the LA area. At some point, I got burnt out & transitioned to a job in the aerospace industry. Talk about culture shock. After I had my daughter, I took some time off.

Then when daughter was just about to turn 4 years old, I went back into the corporate world & took a marketing job in the healthcare insurance industry. It was probably the most conservative company in all of the places I worked at. Looking back on that time, I’m really grateful to have worked at that company. I learned a lot & proved to myself that after being out of the working world for 4 years, my “mommy brain” was able to keep up with many of the younger women in that department. I’m still friends with some of my former co-workers to this day!

I held a couple of part-time jobs afterwards. One was with a company that was actually right around the corner from the health insurance company. My boss seemed to really like me & I got along with my coworkers. Unfortunately the position was about to turn into a full-time job & I didn’t want to grow into that role. (I know, first world problems.)

The part-time job that I had just before my current one was very interesting. I was a virtual assistant for an agency that had many clients. At the end of my time as a VA, I started to realize that it was a soul-sucking job (for reasons I won’t get into, obvs). However, if it wasn’t for that job, I would not have developed the skills & learned the software programs that have made me the blogger that I am. I would have NEVER learned about MailChimp, WordPress, InfusionSoft or Hootsuite on my own. So for that, I am forever grateful that I went through that year as a VA.

Why am I communicating all of this in a blog post? To illustrate that finally, at the age of 40, I have landed the job(s) that I really, really want to do ALL day!

This is a screenshot of my very first post that I did back on June 25, 2013.

1st Blog Post

I have to give a shout-out to some folks who encouraged me in the very beginning to start blogging. Both Linda Williams & Rhea of Rhea, Et Cetera are friends from a previous job who gave me advice & encouragement when I was just kicking around the idea of blogging. I had met Sarah of Moms LA at The Grove last year when I won a contest that her blog was sponsoring. I had reached out to her for some advice (over social media no less) & she was nice enough to answer me back. Dontcha love Twitter?! Jeana from Surf & Sunshine is my “boss lady” who sends me out to cool places in LA to cover entertainment for her blog. My first blogging job for her was to cover a TV show filmed at Warner Bros. studios. She took a chance on me & has kept me on staff for some time now.

I’m going to wrap this post up because it’s starting to sound like a rambling Golden Globes speech. However I’ve saved the best “thank you” for last & that is my family! My husband is supportive of this endeavor, my daughter “puts up” with my never-ending quest to balance social media & answering work emails on my phone while being trying to be present with her and lastly, my parents. They instilled a work ethic in me that has taught me to never give up & that it’s never too late to reinvent yourself.

Cheers & XO!!

7 thoughts on “My One Year Blogging Anniversary

  1. Wow! Happy blog anniversary!! What an amazing journey! I’m so glad we met last week! Valley girls for life! Hahaha! Thank you for sharing! ❤

  2. Congrats on your Blogiversary 🙂 I am so glad that you are finally feeling like you are doing what you need to be doing. I am sort of struggling with that right now…. and I am debating whether or not to get back into the working world. I’ve spend two years as a housewife…. and I’m not sure that I really like the idea of working outside my home again. Luckily, Hubbers is really supportive of my blogging and social media networking, and is starting to consider it as a viable option for income. Hopefully this will continue to workout for me. Congrats again 😉

    1. Megan, thanks for the well wishes! I wish you well in your blogging/social media career. I find that it is hard to work in a “traditional” job, as many companies (especially corporate ones) are not that flexible when it comes to mothers of young children’s needs. I’m thankful for work-at-home opportunities. Stick with what you are passionate about & keep plugging away with what is right (and best) for you & your family. I appreciate you reading my blog post!

  3. Wow, time flies when you’re having fun! I am sooo proud how far you’ve come. Keep up the great work, and I look forward to reading your blog posts for years to come. (Meanwhile, one of these years I need to get back in the saddle and start writing again.)

    1. It’s been a whirlwind of a year! I’ve learned a lot & hope to continue to grow in my blogging journey. Thanks so much for the encouragement in the beginning & even right now! Yes, as soon as work calms down for you, you need to get back to blogging. 🙂

Leave a comment